back to homepagecontact ussitemapadd to favsinfo




The Greek Society of Data Analysis (GSDA) is a non-profit, scientific organization established in 2001 by Iannis Papadimitriou, Prof. in Statistics and Data Analysis (now Emeritus Professor) at the Department of Applied Informatics of University of Macedonia in Greece, together with and a group of university professors, researchers and postgraduate students interested in theory and applications of Geometric Data Analysis (Analyse des Données, in French). Prof. Papadimitriou studied at École Normale Supérieure and was a doctoral student of Jean-Paul Benzécri. By the time he came back to Greece in the mid-'80s, he made a continuous effort to convey Benzécri's teachings, ideas and philosophy to the Greek academic community. The GSDA is a fruit of this effort.

Nowadays, the purposes of the Society have been expanded to promote the scientific study of data analysis and classification and their range covers a multiplicity of sciences and many application fields from official statistics and administration to social sciences and linguistics. To serve its purposes, GSDA organizes a biennial conference and publishes the peer-reviewed journal Data Analysis Bulletin (Τετράδια Ανάλυσης Δεδομένων). GSDA is a member of the International Federation of Classification Societies (IFCS) since 2009.

The Society presently consists of more than 100 members from various disciplines. Since 2001, GSDA has organized eight national conferences with international participation, held in seven different cities in Greece, with an average of 55 contributed papers per meeting. The 9th Panhellenic Data Analysis Conference with international participation is being held between September 28 - 30, 2017 at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in Thessaloniki, Greece.

Board (2015 – 2018)

President: Prof. Giannoula Florou (Kavala Institute of Technology)
Vice President: Prof. Theodore Behrakis (Panteion University)
General Secretary: Assistant Prof. George Menexes (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
Special Secretary: Prof. Sofia Anastasiadou (University of Western Macedonia)
Treasurer: Assistant Prof. Angelos Markos (Democritus University of Thrace)
IFCS Representative, Prof. Theodore Chadjipantelis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)